List of compliant book publishers

On this page we list book publishers that have declared that they comply with the open access requirements of the European Research Council, Wellcome, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), and the Austrian Science Fund (FWF).

These funders support immediate open access to books and book chapters resulting from research grants. This support enables researchers to pay for book processing charges levied by publishers to publish their work in open access.

In the section ‘Funder requirements’ we provide a quick overview of the requirements of these funders concerning open access. Please note this list only provides a summary; details can be found by following the links to the funders’ websites provided.

Publishers that comply with these requirements can join the list by filling in their information in an online form.


Overview

Amsterdam University Press

Irene van Rossum (i.vanrossum@aup.nl)
Open Access Policy: AUP Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Green Open Access

AOSIS

Joleta van Wyk (joleta@aosis.co.za)
Open Access Policy: Copyright and licensing
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

Bloomsbury Publishing

Ros Pyne (ros.pyne@bloomsbury.com)
Open Access Policy: Open Access at Bloomsbury
Selfarchiving Policy: Open Access at Bloomsbury: Self-Archiving Policy (‘Green OA’)

Brill

Stephanie Paalvast (openaccess@brill.com)
Open Access Policy: General Open Access Information
Selfarchiving Policy: Sharing your Work / Self-Archiving (self-archiving restricted to institutional use)

Bristol University Press

Philippa Grand (philippa.grand@bristol.ac.uk)
Open Access Policy: Publishing Open Access books with Bristol University Press
Selfarchiving Policy: Self-archiving and institutional repositories

Cambridge University Press

Matt Day (OpenResearch@cambridge.org)
Open Access Policy: Open Access - Books
Selfarchiving Policy: Green Open Access Books Policy

Carl Grossmann Verlag

Alexander Grossmann (info@carlgrossmann.com)
Open Access Policy: Unser Service
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

Edward Elgar Publishing

Tim Williams (tim@e-elgar.co.uk)
Open Access Policy: Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Self Archiving and Personal Use Policy

FAU University Press

Markus Putnings (university-press@fau.de)
Open Access Policy: Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Self-archiving (OA publisher)*

Frank & Timme

Andre Walter (a.walter@frank-timme.de)
Open Access Policy: Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: no information

Frontiers Media

Nikolaos Anagnostos (production.ebooks@frontiersin.org)
Open Access Policy: Frontiers Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Open access and copyright

De Gruyter

Maria Zucker (maria.zucker@degruyter.com)
Open Access Policy: De Gruyter Open Books
Selfarchiving Policy: Repository Policy

Goodfellow Publishers

Sally North (sally.north@goodfellowpublishers.com)
Open Access Policy: Goodfellow Open Access Policies and Practice
Selfarchiving Policy: no information

IntechOpen

Danijela Đurić (book.department@intechopen.com)
Open Access Policy: Publish with IntechOpen
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

IWA Publishing

Mark Hammond (mhammond@iwap.co.uk)
Open Access Policy: IWA Publishing Open Access policy for Books
Selfarchiving Policy: no information

Language Science Press

Sebastian Nordhoff (sebastian.nordhoff@langsci-press.org)
Open Access Policy: Information for authors
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

Leiden University Press

Saskia Gieling (s.m.gieling@library.leidenuniv.nl)
Open Access Policy: Open Access publishing
Selfarchiving Policy: Open Access publishing

Leuven University Press

Veerle De Laet (veerle.delaet@kuleuven.be)
Open Access Policy: Leuven University Press and Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Green Open Access Policy

Manchester University Press

Tom Dark (thomas.dark@manchester.ac.uk)
Open Access Policy: Open Access Books
Selfarchiving Policy: Open Access Books

MDPI

Laura Wagner (wagner@mdpi.com)
Open Access Policy: MDPI Books
Selfarchiving Policy: Publish with us

Nomos

Johannes Rux (rux@nomos.de)
Open Access Policy: Nomos’ Open Access Policy
Selfarchiving Policy: Right of secondary use and self-archiving

Open Book Publishers

Laura Rodriguez (laura@openbookpublishers.com & distribution@openbookpublishers.com)
Open Access Policy: Open Access: the future of academic publishing
Selfarchiving Policy: Preservation of Your Work

Oxford University Press

Andy Redman (andy.redman@oup.com)
Open Access Policy: Open Access and Academic Monographs
Selfarchiving Policy: Author Reuse and Self-Archiving

Palgrave Macmillan

Open access books team (OAbooks@springernature.com)
Open Access Policy: Open access policies for books
Selfarchiving Policy: Open access policies for books

Pensoft Publishers

Prof. Dr Lyubomir Penev (l.penev@pensoft.net)
Open Access Policy: Pensoft Advanced Books
Selfarchiving Policy: Pensoft Open Access Policy

Peter Lang

Anne Kempen (openaccess@peterlang.com)
Open Access Policy: Peter Lang Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Repository Policy

punctum books

Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei (vincent@punctumbooks.com)
Open Access Policy: Catalogue
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

Routledge

Craig Fowlie (craig.fowlie@tandf.co.uk)
Open Access Policy: Routledge Books Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Policies for Open Access Book Chapters

Springer

Open access books team (OAbooks@springernature.com)
Open Access Policy: Open access policies for books
Selfarchiving Policy: Open access policies for books

Tampere University Press

Susanna Nykyri (susanna.nykyri@tuni.fi)
Open Access Policy: Instructions for authors and editors
Selfarchiving Policy: Self-archiving

Taylor & Francis

James Watson (james.watson@tandf.co.uk)
Open Access Policy: Routledge Books Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: Policies for Open Access Book Chapters

Transcript Verlag

Stefanie Hanneken (open-access@transcript-verlag.de)
Open Access Policy: Open Access with transcript
Selfarchiving Policy: Repository Policy

Ubiquity Press

Tim Wakeford (editorial@ubiquitypress.com)
Open Access Policy: Ubiquity Press Books
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

UCL Press

Lara Speicher (l.speicher@ucl.ac.uk)
Open Access Policy: Publish with UCL Press
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

University of Westminster Press

Philippa Grand (p.grand@westminster.ac.uk)
Open Access Policy: Research Integrity
Selfarchiving Policy: n/a (OA publisher)*

Verlag Holzhausen

Julia Kögl (julia.koegl@holzhausen.at)
Open Access Policy: Open Access
Selfarchiving Policy: DATENSCHUTZERKLÄRUNG (in German)


* This publisher only publishes books in open access. Therefore, all books are available for self-archiving.